Waterloo Coin Society
Proudly serving collectors in the Region of Waterloo and surrounding areas since 1959!


Second Tuesday; Social Hour @ 6:30; Meeting Starts @ 7:30

Informal Coffee House on Zoom Fourth Wednesdays @ 7:00

Check your Newsletter or emails for meeting details!

Click here for more information

Find us on Facebook

Advertise Here!

About the Waterloo Coin Society

The Waterloo Coin Society was founded in 1959 by a group of like-minded collectors. Ever since, we have been serving collectors from Waterloo Region and beyond. Where and when we meet has changed a few times over the years, but our core aims and objectives remain the same: to encourage and promote the collection and study of coins, tokens, paper money, medals, badges, trade money, and other currency related collectables, to cultivate fraternal relations among collectors, and to acquire and dispense numismatic knowledge.

Constitution and Bylaws

The Waterloo Coin Society's Constitution and Bylaws define the major rules and policies that govern the Society. They are updated periodically to move with the times. To view the current version of our Constitution and Bylaws, click here.

Historical Tidbits

Club Logo / Medal DesignW.C.S. Logo

Our official logo has been in use since 1961 after it was selected by means of a design competition among the membership. The successful design was produced by Les Marks, a WWII veteran and accomplished artist. Since its introduction, the logo has been used for countless official purposes including medals, letterhead, woods and on our website.

Read more about our logo and its designer.

NEW! Souvenir Treasury Notes

In early 2023, the Waterloo Coin Society has produced a series of collectible "Souvenir Treasury Notes" honouring two of the club's most influential members, Bruce Raszmann and William English, and two towers that are symbolic of the history and culture of our community and its first pioneers to arrive here.

Find out more about the Souvenir Treasury Notes or go straight to the order form to get yours now while supplies last.

Souvenir Treasury Notes

35th Anniversary Currency35th Anniversary Currency

In 1994, Waterloo Coin Society celebrated its 35th anniversary. One of our members, Earl Sheriff, instigated the creation of some commemorative banknotes.

Read more about our 35th Anniversary Currency.

Medals and Woods

Over the years, Waterloo Coin Society has issued numerous medals and woods, both in our own right and in conjunction with other organizations. Club members have also issued woods with W.C.S. designs. Read more about our medals and woods.

Cambridge Coin Show

The Cambridge Coin Show, originally founded by dealer Ted Bailey and for many years operated by the Cambridge Coin Club, was given over to the Waterloo Coin Society starting with the 2014 show. The Cambridge Coin Club was taking its first steps to close down and passing off the show was determined to be the best course of action for everyone. The Waterloo Coin Society is proud to carry on this legacy of outstanding coin shows held annually at the Cambridge Newfoundland Club.

Ontario Numismatic Association

The Waterloo Coin Society and its members were the driving force behind the creation of the Ontario Numismatic Association in 1962 and ultimately became its first member club. The O.N.A. was launched at the W.C.S.' third annual show and banquet held March 24-25, 1962, at the Walper Hotel in Kitchener. Over 750 collectors from across the Ontario and the United States turned up for the two-day gala event with 230 attending the dinner.

Club of the Year Award

W.C.S. has been honoured to be selected as the Club of the Year by both the Royal Canadian Numismatic Association and the Ontario Numismatic Association on several occasions. While the award is distinct from each organization, their criteria are very similar. The awards generally are intended to recognize the club having made the most significant overall achievement on behalf of its members and the hobby. Clubs are judged on many factors including topics of meetings, educational and numismatic presentations, coin shows and consistency of meetings. The awards are usually announced at each organization's annual conventions. The R.C.N.A.'s award was first issued in 1986, and the O.N.A. first issued their award in 2018.

The Waterloo Coin Society has won these awards:

  • 1996 - Canadian Numismatic Association
  • 2009 - Royal Canadian Numismatic Association
  • 2019 - Ontario Numismatic Association
  • 2021 - Royal Canadian Numismatic Association
  • 2023 - Ontario Numismatic Association


The Waterloo Coin Society has benefit from many exceptional people. Over time, we endeavour to document some of them in the form of biographies on this website. († indicates deceased.)

Past Presidents

Our club has been led by a wide variety of dedicated men and women over the years, including several who thought that one term just wasn't enough! († indicates deceased.)

  • 2024-Present Peter Becker
  • 2021-2023 Tony Verbruggen
  • 2018-2020 Maher Babbili
  • 2015-2018 Ben Dettweiler
  • 2009-2014 Robb McPherson
  • 2009 Dave Marcella
  • 2005-2008 Peter Becker
  • 2000-2004 Robb McPherson
  • 1997-1999 Chris Boyer
  • 1995-1996 Mike Hollingshead
  • 1993-1994 John McIntyre
  • 1991-1992 Don Robb†
  • 1989-1990 Rosemary Hedges
  • 1983-1988 John McIntyre
  • 1980-1982 Harold Marshall
  • 1978-1979 Don Robb†
  • 1976-1977 Dave Harper
  • 1975 William Gordon†
  • 1973-1974 Wilfred Erb†
  • 1972 Ed Stahley†
  • 1971 John Craig
  • 1970 Bill English
  • 1968-1969 John Shaw
  • 1966-1967 Shirley English
  • 1965 Phillip Mueller†
  • 1964 Ed Stahley†
  • 1962-1963 Rod Rekofski†
  • 1961 Frank Uttley†
  • 1959-1960 Bill English

Honorary Life Membership Roll

Over the years, the Waterloo Coin Society has been the beneficiary of the hard work and dedication of many individuals. Some of them have been bestowed with Honourary Life Memberships in the Society as thanks. († indicates deceased.)

  • LM 1 Harvey Brubacher† (1960)
  • LM 2 Bill English (1960)
  • LM 3 Bruce Raszmann† (1971)
  • LM 4 Heinz Herzog† (1973)
  • LM 5 Don Robb† (1997)
  • LM 6 Mike Hollingshead (2004)
  • LM 7 Chris Boyer (2009)
  • LM 8 Peter Becker (2013)
  • LM 9 Robb McPherson (2015)
  • LM 10 Brent W.J. Mackie (2023)